A Strange Short Film

Screen shot 2014-08-07 at 7.04.43 PMWow, I almost let today pass without a post. How irresponsible of me!  I’m a little busy today which is weird considering that yesterday was my last day of work for the summer. I know, time goes by so fast – it seems like just yesterday that I was writing about starting work.

And so, with summer’s end fast approaching, you may wonder, ‘well, what are you going to do now?’, and the answer to that is: I’M HEADING TO LONDON!! As a little background, I have family that lives over there. They are always really good about visiting us and almost every time they come we promise that we will one day come visit them. We are finally making good on that promise. I can’t wait to write my post for next week and add all the pictures that I will have taken. It was great being a tourist in my own city but how great will it be to be a tourist somewhere else?!

I’m leaving on Saturday and you can imagine that life on my end is a little crazy with packing and all that. Therefore, I will keep this post short and get to the point. So, earlier on this week, all the interns at the documentary center were supposed to bring in their work for an intern screening. Me, being very wary of sharing my work, went the lame route and brought some black and white photographs that I developed last year, instead of showing the little artsy found footage film that I made. Photographs are one thing but showing something that you worked hard on and want people to like is in two completely different ballparks. Not to say that I didn’t work hard on my photographs – because I spent many hours in the dark room to get them right – but somehow showing the film for me was very different. It’s also in part because I am embarrassed of it a little, I’ve seen it too many times and every single flaw is painfully apparent to me.

Anyway, I did end up showing the film at the screening after being peer pressured into it even though I was highly uncomfortable with the situation. Their reaction was good but this experience made me realize that I am VERY WARY of sharing my work with people. And so to try and get over this, I’ve decided to share it with you here. I guess the premise requires an explanation but I’ve decided to just let you interpret it for yourself. If there are any vlogger fans reading this post, you might be happy to see the material included. Hope you enjoy! Catch up with you next Thursday!

One thought on “A Strange Short Film

Leave a Reply

